Paleo Substitutions

PaleoSo, you’ve taken the leap and now you’re going full force with Paleo.  You may have been told all of the things you can’t have. 

No grains.  That means no wheat, no corn (yes, corn is a grain), no rice (oh, my Thai rice noodles!), and others are off limits such as: amaranth, barley, buckwheat, bulgur, flaxseed, grano, Kamut, millet, oats, muesli, quinoa, rye, sorghum, spelt, teff, and triticale.

No dairy.  No milk, butter, cheese, cream (bye-bye coffee creamer), paneer, or sour cream.  For a complete list of dairy, potential dairy, and non-dairy products see “Go Dairy Free“.

No legumes.  This includes alfalfa, beans (adzuki, black, broad “Fava”, butter, calico, cannellini, edamame, garbonzo, great northern, italian, kidney, lima, lupin, mung, navy, pinto, and soy), carob, clover, lentils, mesquite (watch out for mesquite honey), peanuts, peas (black-eyed, chickpeas, etc.), and soy.

No processed foods.  No refined sugar.  No vegetable oils.  Fresh, single-ingredient foods are best.

You may be asking yourself, “What’s left?  What CAN I eat?  Nuts and meat?”  Well, yes; nuts (in moderation) and meat plus vegetables, fruits (in moderation), good fats, and other stuff.  The trick is to figure out what the “other stuff” is.  I find that I can usually take some of my BP (before Paleo) recipes and change them up a little bit, taking into account some of the Paleo substitutions.

I created a Paleo Substitution List as a reference guide.  Check back often because I will update it as I learn more and come across new items.  Feel free to send me suggestions (ClearingEnergyWork@gmail.com) for updates.

About Clearing Energy Work

A Clearing is energy work that promotes a relaxed body, calm emotions, clear thoughts, and spiritual growth.

5 responses »

  1. Hmm that was weird, my comment got eaten. Anyway I wanted to say that it’s nice to know that someone else also mentioned this as I had trouble finding the same info elsewhere. This was the first place that told me the answer. Thanks.

  2. You’re welcome. I’m relatively new to Paleo myself. I can’t even begin to tell you all of the benefits that have resulted from just simple changes in my diet. We were eating healthy before, but these few changes here and there have made all the difference.

    As I learn more, I’ll share those insights. Lessons are lost if they are only known by one person. They are meant to be shared. What has been your experience with Paleo?

  3. […] can serve this chocolate paleo-friendly ice cream by itself, or you can fold in one or more of the […]

  4. […] dissolve 1 cup raw sugar by stirring it until completely dissolved.  Note. Refined sugar is not Paleo friendly and the antibacterial properties of honey could damage the scoby.  Another slightly more […]

Leave a Reply

